Blue, Meet Yellow

Today was one of those days when it felt like lunchtime at about 9:00 a.m.  And not because I was so hungry… After trying to block out the clamoring and the whining and the nagging for a while, it was obvious that I needed to tap into my Pinterest arsenal and get some activities going for the kids.  I landed on “Color in a Bag” because it looked simple and clean-ish.

I also saw that the ingredients were minimal and involved cornstarch.  Which I’ve developed a mild fascination with… all cool projects seem to involved cornstarch. Which is also why I have a stash at the ready.

All you need is:

1 cup cornstarch

1/2 cup sugar

4 cups water

food coloring

Mix the cornstarch, sugar and water together and cook over medium heat until it thickens, stirring constantly.

I stirred sporadically and at one point noticed some large gel-like clumps so quickly grabbed my whisk which seemed to do the trick.  Remove from heat and stir for another minute or so until it feels like pudding or ketchup or some other mildly gelatonous food of your choosing.  Split the mixture into two bowls and add food coloring.

Once it’s cooled enough to handle, get out the ziplock and load ’em up.  I put 1 large scoop of each color in each bag and used quart-sized freezer bags.  Also, I reinforced the bag’s ‘zip’ with clear packing tape.  (Eleanor was desperate to open the bag, so the tape was a good call for us…)

As the kids started to squish and squeeze the bags, the two colors began to mix for a little Color Theory 101.  (See how we got all educational right there?)

Eleanor liked rolling her bag up, and Oliver enjoyed poking at his.

This would be a great activity to bring with you on a car trip as there’s no mess and it’s super easy to make; I suspect this counts as a liquid so you might have a little up-close-and-personal with TSA if you try to bring it on an airplane (but it would be perfect!).

I’ve exhausted my parental street cred for the week, so tomorrow the children will be playing with the gravel in our driveway or toilet paper or something.

xo

Charlotte

2 thoughts on “Blue, Meet Yellow

  1. I love these updates of your endless creativity and adorable kiddos. What is Martha doing during these activities? xoxo

Leave a Reply

