Puff Kiddies

I finally had some time last night to get back to day dreaming on Pinterest.  Crafts… furniture… design… and kids stuff.  I mentioned before that Eleanor’s school was destroyed in the hurricane so she’s been home for a couple of weeks.  Since Oliver’s also home on Wednesday, planning an activity that suits them both is a challenge.

Simple, not to messy, not too many steps, but still fun… that’s what I’m looking for on Pinterest when I have both kids to entertain.

May I present home made puffy paint.  So. Cool.

And not for nothing… So. Easy.  This was the original post.

Ingredients:

– 1 tablespoon self rising flour

– 1 tablespoon salt

– food coloring

– water (I used 2 tablespoons).

I didn’t have self-rising flour, but a quick google search shows that to make all purpose flour into self rising flour, simply add 1 1/4 tsp. baking powder and 1/4 tsp. salt to 1 cup of all purpose flour.  (How did we figure these things out before google?)

I mixed four colors and cut some small squares out of old cardboard boxes.  We had plenty of paint brushes but q-tips are my go to (as mentioned in the original post) if I can’t put my finger on our paint brushes.

Because the ingredients are so simple, I didn’t bother with covering the table or putting smocks on the kids.  I also think if you don’t want something to get messy, then it’s probably not the right thing to have within 50 yards of a preschooler!

Oliver painted a little bit, stuck his hand in the paint, whined because his hand got messy, dripped a little bit and managed to barely finish his before “get down.”

Eleanor loved hers.  As evidenced by her mad painted pottery skills, the girl gets her detail on when she has a paint brush in hand.

Okay, here’s where the magic puffy paint spell is cast.  Put your cardboard art into the microwave and nuke for 30 seconds.  Told you it was cool.  Eleanor loved watching her paint puff (I made the non-medical call that 30 seconds with her face up against a microwave probably wouldn’t do any lasting damage, but if she starts mass producing these things, I’ll ask her to step back).

Randomly, the paint that Oliver and I used was pretty thick when we were painting while Eleanor’s blue was much more watery.  It all came out great.

Oliver’s Before:

Oliver’s After:

Eleanor’s Before:

Eleanor’s After:

For older kids, you could use the paint to make textured patterns: braille for example.  It could also add an interesting finishing touch to already completed artwork.  You could use the paint to make an ornate frame.  Possibilities are endless.

Enjoy!  (I promise… it really is that easy and that awesome.)

xo

Charlotte

2 thoughts on “Puff Kiddies

  1. Charlotte (message just for you) I know you said you didn’t want any teachers commenting on Eleanor’s grasp and that you are working on it. As a pediatric OT I thought I could give you one little suggestion. When she is holding her brush, marker, crayon etc place a small object like a bean under her ring and pinky finger to hold, depending on what we are doing we will work it into the activity like “holding a secret agent spy gadget”, the” princesses gem” etc. Hope I am not overstepping here.
    Susan

Leave a Reply

