Drawer-ing Up Some New Storage

Ever since I made our dress-up bureau, I’ve had a handful of extra drawers lying around the Ciburbanity workshop.    (God, do I wish I had an actual workshop!)

DSC_0996

I’m mildly obsessed with storage options.  I will also throw a caster on anything.  Using an old drawer for under the bed storage wasn’t my idea.  I’d seen it here on Jen’s amazing blog I Heart Organizing, here brand new at Room and Board and scattered around in DIY magazines, etc.  I love keeping storage simple in kids rooms so that all they have to do is toss things into a bin: no fuss no muss.

I contemplated really pimping these guys out with paint inside, decorative paper, faux finishing, but ultimately decided that they were going under a bed in the kids’ room… two reasons enough not to go crazy.

First, I primed and painted the drawers.  I used a very pale green that I had on hand.  (I probably should have used white to tie into Eleanor’s bed a little better, but I repeat… these are under a bed in the kids’ room.)

DSC_1014

You know how I love storage and casters?  Well I also love decoupage. The smell of Mod Podge makes me happy.  As mentioned in this post about my everything-but-the-kitchen-sink dresser, I struggle to keep things simple.  I know I know, I said I was dialing this one back because of the under bed children’s locale, but I lied a little bit.  I had to get some mod podge in somehow.  Also chalkboard paint; wanted to get that in.

I found an old book at Goodwill and have been using it’s many pages for EVERYthing.  I love the old print, small font, etc.  I also happened to have a piece of small trim lying around.

DSC_1063

I had already decided to frame out a panel on the front of each drawer to jazz it up the slightest, and I figured this small space might be big enough to use as my chalkboard label, but small enough not to overwhelm the face of each drawer. I decoupaged the book pages onto the trim and used wood glue to adhere the trim to the drawers.  Then I taped off the trim and painted on the chalkboard paint.

DSC_0994

Finally time to assemble the moving parts of this storage.  I drilled holes in the bottom of each drawer and attached the casters with nuts and bolts.  I considered whether to reinforce the bottom of each drawer, but figured they wouldn’t be that weighed down given their design for children’s toys.

DSC_0995

You saw above, but my last step was to add a handle in order to make the drawers easier for little hands to access.

DSC_0992

Currently the drawers are sitting under Eleanor’s bed with train parts and dollhouse accessories… as the kids grow, we can change up their storage needs with an eraser and a new label!  Love them!

DSC_1001

xo

Charlotte

One thought on “Drawer-ing Up Some New Storage

  1. What a great idea! Now I regret buying Gio a bed so low to the ground….not a lot of choices when buying furniture in Ukraine. Next post, a better bed and “Creatures” and “Legos” drawers!

Leave a Reply

