Ceramic White Copy Cat

If imitation is the best form of flattery, than I’m flattering a lot of people with this.  No question the ceramic white animal thing is a growing trend in the design world.  You saw one with my lovely new lamp yesterday!

Further evidence of white ceramic animal world domination:

If you still don’t believe me, go ahead and google ceramic white animals; I’ll save you the key strokes… here’s what you get: 1,900,000.

Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 8.25.20 PM

So obviously I’m the one screaming shotgun as I push my way onto this bandwagon.  Whenever I hit a Goodwill or a flea market, I’m always looking for fun ceramic animals that would look a million percent better with a coat of glossy white spray paint.  Nothing special before…

Nothing special before...

DSC_1221

Moderately cooler a few light coats of spray paint after…

DSC_1253 It’s become a little scavenger hunt for me.  They’re harder to come by than you might think (unless you like cats… there are ALWAYS ceramic cats).  I spray them with glossy white spray paint (I like Rust-oleum’s Painter’s Touch Ultra Cover).

DSC_0217

This guy WAS a lovely pep to-bismal pink.

This guy WAS a lovely pepto-bismal pink. Picture was taken midway through the spray painting makeover.

I’m a sucker for elephants, but have managed to snag a turtle, a rhino, a cow, a beagle…to name a few.  And yes, I’m aware that I need to edit… the bookshelves are a work in progress.

DSC_1254

DSC_1253

Welcome to my imitation gallery.

DSC_1255

DSC_1256

xo

Charlotte

Leave a Reply

