It’s A Sensory Day In Our Neighborhood: Fluffy Dough

Oliver gets a lot of press on this blog because I’m with him 3 mornings a week when Eleanor is at school.  After I saw his excitement for this ivory soap activity, I called on the Pinterest Gods once again for an equally simple sensory experience for him.

DSC_1147

Two things I love are shaving cream and corn starch, so when a more creative person than I suggested putting these two things together, I was sold.

DSC_1142

There are posts about this all over the internet, so feel free to look at other options, but I pretty much mixed the two things together until it seemed like a fun texture (e.g. I could make ‘snowballs’ out of it).

DSC_1145

Oliver was thrown at first by the sticking factor and needed to be reassured that his hands were, in fact, still underneath all that fluffy stuff.

DSC_1176

DSC_1156

After wiping him down a few times, he got into it and started to explore.

DSC_1157

DSC_1174

DSC_1155

Once it got more corn-starchy than shaving-creamy, we added some more shaving cream, and I let Oliver have a whirl at stirring. (He took it beaucoup seriously.)

DSC_1164

I’ve said it before, but getting over the mess factor (read: clean up) is big with all of these sensory activities.  Both shaving cream and corn starch are a piece of cake to clean up, but I also took one minute to quickly tape down some saran wrap before starting. This made it even easier to adios the fluffy dough wreckage.

DSC_1180

DSC_1185

There’s nothing that a wet rag and a dust buster can’t tackle here.

DSC_1182

And if I think it’s kind of cool, imagine what my Neanderthal 2-year-old is thinking?!

xo

Charlotte

Leave a Reply

