Let’s Dance, the Latch Dance

Y’all will just have to believe me on this.  I pinky swear this has been on my project list for a few months ever since I saw this link on Pinterest. A busy board.

Screen Shot 2013-01-30 at 8.18.55 PM

I’ve since learned that it’s also known as a latch board and a certain leading blog who shall remain nameless (YHL) posted something a couple of weeks ago that is pretty much identical to what you’re about to see.  But again… it really was on my to do list before I read their post.  Swear.

DSC_1808

More on this in a later post, but I took a field trip to a local dollar store a couple of weeks ago. Man oh man oh man.  Among the many (many!) other items I found was a whole slew of latch-like paraphernalia.  I also popped into our local Habitat for Humanity ReStore and found a few other little tid bits.

DSC_1740

Thanks to Mark’s manly garage project, we had some leftover plywood.  I cut down one of these, sanded, and painted with Polycrylic to keep it nice and smooth.  I unpacked and arranged all the latches (and took a picture in case, I don’t know, Oliver came within 45 feet of it).

DSC_1768

With a Sharpie, I made a dot on my latch board where each screw hole should be, and then I went back and drilled all of the holes I needed at once.  (The picture came in handy at this point, actually.)

DSC_1769

DSC_1773

Geeky tip: if you make a mark with a Sharpie on your drill bit, you won’t go through the board you’re drilling.  (Darn, I need to learn Photoshop so I can add an arrow to pictures like this…)

DSC_1774

Ten minutes later, and all my latches were secure and ready for tinkering.

DSC_1776

Oh, a finishing touch was this light switch from the ReStore for 25¢. I pried the metal part off, and used some Gorilla Glue to stick it onto my board.

DSC_1741

DSC_1779

Lastly, I added some no-skid dots on each corner to keep it from sliding around too much.

DSC_1811

Oliver got to play with it this morning, and he kept coming back to it looking at the various latches.

DSC_1793

Some were simple for him and some made him frustrated… pretty much a day in the life of Oliver, but good that there’s some growth that will come with the latch board.

DSC_1797

I like that it’s durable, compact, and gets his little fingers working.  And when it’s time for college, he can supplement tuition with a little breaking and entering.

DSC_1802

DSC_1803

DSC_1790

DSC_1799

xo

Charlotte

p.s.  I might go back and add his initials or put some color around the edge (paint? decoupage? duct tape?).

2 thoughts on “Let’s Dance, the Latch Dance

Leave a Reply

